You are here


Elections in Shropshire next take place on 4th May 2017.  Councillors, apart from the chairman and vice-chairman retire together on the 4th day after the ordinary elections, this being on 8th May, when the newly elected councillors take up office.  The Chairman or Town Mayor is elected annually at the annual meeting where election of chairman is the first item of business and he or she holds office until the new chairman is elected.  The annual meeting must be held between 8th May and 22nd May 2017.  Please see Shropshire Council's Guide to Procdures for Town and Parish Council Elections below.  News sheets will be added to this page containing updates from the Elections Team as we approach the elections.

An Elections Pack for Clerks that includes promotional material to download, templates, booklets and useful links, is below, where you will also find Induction templates for you to adapt to the needs of your council when you welcome your new councillors in May.  The Pack contains all the useful links you will need including that to Shropshire Council's Election Page.  Shropshire Council's Election Bulletins will also be added to the Pack as they are issued along with Frequently Asked Questions and Answers.


(The next elections for Telford & Wrekin will be in May 2018.)