You are here

Star Councils

NALC has a rich history of running awards, so we were delighted to reintroduce an awards scheme in 2015 which was made possible thanks to sponsorship from AON UK and other category sponsors.

Our annual Star Councils programme was a huge success as we were inundated with nominations of excellent quality and our finalists and winners provided a fantastic example of the work of the sector.

This year, NALC would like to build on previous years’ success and see even more nominations submitted by councils, county associations and also MPs and parliamentarians.

The Star Councils 2017 awards play a key part in our call for more power to be devolved from Whitehall to England’s towns and villages, which is why we would like everyone to submit nominations to highlight the good work local councils are doing across the country.

There are six award categories this year and details of the nomination criteria can be found in the nomination guide (please note that the submission process has been simplified and all entries for the Star Councils 2017 awards must be submitted using the online forms below).

  1. Young Councillor of the Year

  2. Clerk of the Year 

  3. Councillor of the Year

  4. County association outstanding project of the Year 

  5. Local council outstanding project of the Year

  6. Council of the Year

View nomination guide

View promotional pack

View sponsorship guide

View last year's winners

The closing date for nominations is 28 July 2017.

The longlist will be announced in August, the shortlist in September and the winners and runner's up will be invited to a special awards reception that will be held in conjunction with the NALC Annual Conference 2017 on 1 and 2 November 2017, at the same venue.